He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother

Posted: December 19, 2011 in lyrics, music
Tags: , ,

HE AIN’T HEAVY, HE’S MY BROTHER

“He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother” is a popular music ballad written by Bobby Scott and Bob Russell. Originally recorded by Kelly Gordon in 1969, the song became a worldwide hit for The Hollies later that year and again for Neil Diamond in 1970.

The Hollies in 1969.

The Hollies’ recording, which featured Elton John on piano, was released in the UK on 1 September 1969 and on 1 December 1969 in the US. The Neil Diamond version was released as a single on November 7, 1970. The flip side was “Free Life”. The song appears on the Neil Diamond album “Tap Root Manuscript”, which was released November 21, 1970. In 1988, Bill Medley recorded a version for the end credits of the film Rambo III. This version, produced by Giorgio Moroder, was released in the UK as a single around the same time as the re-issued Hollies version, and both featured in the “Top 40” simultaneously, Medley’s version reaching #25.

The Hollies album single He Ain’t Heavy, He’s my Brother, with ‘Cos you Like to Love Me as B-side, was released on 1969.

HE AIN’T HEAVY, HE’S MY BROTHER
Music and lyrics by Bobby Scott and Bob Russell

The road is long
With many a winding turns
That leads us to who knows where,
Who knows where.
But I’m strong,
Strong enough to carry him.
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother.

So on we go.
His welfare is of my concern.
No burden is he to bear,
We’ll get there.
For I know
We would not encumber me.
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother.

If I’m laden at all,
I’m laden with sadness
That everyone’s heart
Isn’t filled with the gladness
Of love for one another.

It’s a long, long road
From which there is no return.
While we’re on the way to there,
Why not share?
And the load
Doesn’t weigh me down at all.
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother.

He’s my brother.
He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother…

SEE THE HOLLIES’ HE AIN’T HEAVY HE’S MY BROTHER ON YOUTUBE:

SEE ALSO THE BILL MEDLEY’S HE AIN’T HEAVY, HE’S MY BROTHER ON YOUTUBE:

Leave a Reply

