Sad Lisa

Posted: March 15, 2012 in lyrics, music
Tags: , , ,

“Sad Lisa” is a beautiful and sad song from the 1970 album “Tea for the Tillerman”.

“Tea for the Tillerman” is an album by singer-songwriter Cat Stevens. This album, Stevens’ second during 1970, includes many of Stevens’ best-known songs including “Where Do the Children Play?”, “Hard Headed Woman”, “Wild World”, “Sad Lisa”, “Into White” and “Father and Son”. Four of the tracks (“Where Do the Children Play?”, “On the Road to Find Out”, “Tea for the Tillerman” and “Miles from Nowhere”) were featured in the Hal Ashby and Colin Higgins’ black comedy film titled “Harold and Maude”, in 1971.

SAD LISA
Cat Stevens

She hangs her head and cries on my shirt.
She must be hurt very badly.
Tell me what’s making you sad, Li?
Open your door – don’t hide in the dark.
You’re lost in the dark – you can trust me.
‘Cause you know that’s how it must be.

Lisa – Lisa, sad Lisa – Lisa.

Her eyes like windows trickle in rain
Upon the pain getting deeper.
Though my love wants to relieve her.
She walks alone from wall to wall.
Lost in her hall, she can’t hear me.
Though I know she likes to be near me.

Lisa – Lisa, sad Lisa – Lisa.

She sits in a corner by the door.
There must be more I can tell her.
If she really wants me to help her.
I’ll do what I can to show her the way.
And maybe one day I will free her.
Though I know no one can see her.

Lisa – Lisa, sad Lisa – Lisa.

SEE THE ORIGINAL SAD LISA WITH LYRICS ON YOUTUBE:

SEE CAT STEVENS SAD LISA LIVE ON TOUR 1976 ON YOUTUBE:

Leave a Reply

