I Will Survive

Posted: May 13, 2012 in lyrics, music
Tags: , ,

“I Will Survive” is a song first performed by American singer Gloria Gaynor, released in October 1978. It was written by Freddie Perren and Dino Fekaris. A top-selling song after its initial release, it has remained a popular disco anthem, as well as being certified double platinum by the RIAA.


The song’s lyrics describe the narrator’s discovery of personal strength following an initially devastating breakup, delivered with increasing confidence and backed by a stirring instrumental accompaniment. It is one of the most famous disco songs of all time and remains Gaynor’s biggest hit. It received heavy airplay in 1979, reaching number one on the Billboard Hot 100 and on the UK Singles Chart on consecutive weeks. The song is also frequently recalled as symbol of female strength and as a gay anthem.

Originally released as the B-side to a cover version of the Righteous Brothers song “Substitute”, “I Will Survive” became a worldwide hit for Gaynor when disc jockeys played that side of the record instead. The song has been covered by musicians such as Diana Ross, Shirley Bassey, Miss Piggy, Billie Jo Spears, Selena, Chantay Savage, Antony and the Johnsons, The Puppini Sisters, Hermes House Band, voice actor Cam Clarke, the band Cake and in a recent duet by Jill and Lindsay from KickTease.

I WILL SURVIVE
Gloria Gaynor

At first I was afraid, I was petrified,
Kept’ thinkin’ I could never live
Without you by my side,
But then I spent so many nights
Thinkin’ how you did me wrong,
And I grew strong, and I learned how to get along,

And so you’re back, from outer space,
I just walked in to find you here
With that sad look upon your face,
I should’ve changed that stupid lock,
I should’ve made you leave your key,
If I had known for just one second
You’d be back to bother me,

Go now go, walk out the door,
Just turn around now, cause you’re not welcome anymore,
Weren’t you the one who tried to hurt me with goodbye,
Do you think I’d crumble,
Do you think I’d lay down and die,
Oh no not I, I will survive,
For as long as I know how to love
I know I’ll stay alive,
I’ve got all my life to live;
I’ve got all my love to give,
And I’ll survive, I will survive,
Hey, Hey!

It took all the strength I had not to fall apart,
And trying hard to mend the pieces
of my broken heart,
And I spent oh so many nights just feeling sorry for myself,
I used to cry, but now I hold my head up high,
And you’ll see me, somebody new,
I’m not that chained up little person
still in love with you,
And so you felt like droppin’ in
And just expect me to be free,
Now I’m savin’ all my lovin’
for someone who’s lovin’ me,

Go now go, walk out the door,
Just turn around now, cause you’re not welcome anymore,
Weren’t you the one who tried to hurt me with goodbye,
Do you think I’d crumble,
Do you think I’d lay down and die,
Oh no not I, I will survive,
For as long as I know how to love
I know I’ll stay alive,
I’ve got all my life to live;
I’ve got all my love to give,
And I’ll survive, I will survive,

Go now go, walk out the door,
Just turn around now, cause you’re not welcome anymore,
Weren’t you the one who tried to hurt me with goodbye,
Do you think I’d crumble,
Do you think I’d lay down and die,
Oh no not I, I will survive,
For as long as I know how to love
I know I’ll stay alive,
I’ve got all my life to live;
I’ve got all my love to give,
And I’ll survive, I will survive,
Hey, Hey!

SEE GLORIA GAYNOR’S I WILL SURVIVE ON YOUTUBE:

CAKE VERSION

Cake covered the song rock-style in 1996, on their album Fashion Nugget. In addition to many subtle changes, lead singer John McCrea altered the lines “I should have changed that stupid lock” and “I’m not that chained up little person” to “I should have changed my fucking lock” and “I’m not that stupid little person”. The word “fucking” is faded out in the Radio Edit version of the song. Some of the subtle changs significantly affected the meaning of the lyrics such as “And you see me, somebody new” to “And you see me with somebody new”. This version is Gaynor’s least favorite, due to its use of profanity.

SEE CAKE COVER FOR I WILL SURVIVE ON YOUTUBE:

Source: Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

