Archive for June 9, 2011

“Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” is a song written by Bennie Benjamin, Gloria Caldwell and Sol Marcus for the singer/pianist Nina Simone, who first recorded it in 1964. “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” has been recorded or performed by many artists, and is widely known by the 1965 blues rock hit recording from The Animals. A 1977 disco/Latin rendition by Santa Esmeralda was also a hit.

Cat Stevens was pleased as a young musician to be compared to the song’s first performer, Nina Simone, by an interviewer from Melody Maker. After converting to Islam and changing his name to Yusuf Islam, several incidents where he has felt misunderstood — including a recitation from the Qur’an that he maintains was either a misquote or taken out of context which was alleged to be supportive of the fatwa against Salman Rushdie, and allegations that he provided funds to terrorist organizations resulted in his deportation from both Israel and the U.S. — sparked his recording of “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” with some lyrical alterations, featured on his 2006 album “An Other Cup”.

An Other Cup is Islam’s first Western pop album since Back to Earth, which was released in 1978 under the name Cat Stevens. On the album cover, the singer is credited as “Yusuf” with a cover label identifying him as “the artist formerly known as Cat Stevens”. In an interview as to why he presented both names, he said, “You know, the cup is there to be filled … with whatever you want to fill it with. For those people looking for Cat Stevens, they’ll probably find him in this record. If you want to find Yusuf, go a bit deeper, you’ll find him.”

In April 2007, BBC1 broadcast a concert given at the Porchester Hall by Yusuf as part of BBC Sessions, his first live performance in London in 28 years (the previous one being the UNICEF “Year of the Child” concert in 1979). He played several new songs along with some old ones like “Father and Son”, “The Wind”, “Where Do the Children Play?”, “Don’t Be Shy”, “Wild World”, and “Peace Train”. Below, watch Yusuf Islam’ “Don’t let me be misunderstood”.

Learn more about Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cat_Stevens
Visit Yusuf Islam official website: http://www.yusufislam.org.uk/

DON’T LET ME BE MISUNDERSTOOD

People, do you understand me now,
If sometimes I feel a little mad
Don’t you know no one alive can always be an angel
When things go wrong I seem a little sad
But I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood

You know sometimes, I’m so carefree
With a joy that’s hard to hide
Sometimes seems that all I have is worry
And then you’re bound to see my other side
But I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood

If I seem edgy, I want you to know
That I never mean to take it out on you
Life has its problems and I get more than my share
But that’s one thing I never mean to do
I don’t mean it

People, don’t you know I’m only human
Don’t you know I have faults like any one
But sometimes I find myself alone regretting
Some little thing; some foolish thing
that I have done,
But I’m just a soul whose intentions are good
Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood

Don’t let me be misunderstood
I’m just someone whose intentions are good
Don’t let me be misunderstood,
Don’t let me be misunderstood

Perverted

Posted: June 9, 2011 in humor, kids
Tags: ,

Perverted: some guys have started early …